For his Nashville concert on May 14, Alice Cooper brought his original band mates onstage for five songs — an extremely rare occurrence since the founding members parted ways in 1975.

Performing "I'm 18," "Billion Dollar Babies," "Muscle of Love," "No More Mr. Nice Guy," and "School's Out" were guitarist Michael Bruce, bassist Dennis Dunaway, and drummer Neal Smith, with current Cooper guitarist Ryan Roxie standing in for the late Glen Buxton (who died in 1997 of pneumonia).

Even cooler, Cooper announced that his new album, Paranormal, will feature two brand new tracks by the surviving members of the original band. Paranormal is scheduled for a July 28 release on earMUSIC. Produced by long-time Alice Cooper Band and Alice Cooper (solo) producer Bob Ezrin, the new album also includes collaborations with ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons, U2's Larry Mullen, and Deep Purple's Roger Glover.

Bruce, Dunaway, and Smith were in Nashville to receive a historic achievement award — along with Cooper, of course — from The Music Business Association at its annual convention on May 15. 

The current Alice Cooper band — which includes guitarists Nita Strauss and Tommy Henriksen (as well as Roxie), bassist Chuck Garric, and drummer Glen Sobel — is continuing its 2017 tour. The North American dates are:

Jun 07 - Fox Cities Performing Arts Center - Appleton, WI

Jun 08 - Grand Casino Hinckley Amphitheater - Hinckley, MN

Jun 09 - Vetter Stone Amphitheater - Mankato, MN

Jun 12 - Paramount Theatre - Denver, CO

Jun 13 - Kingsbury Hall - Salt Lake City, UT

Jun 16 - Thunder Valley Casino Amphitheater - Lincoln, CA

Jun 17 - Cuthbert Amphitheatre - Eugene, OR

Jun 18 - Pepsi Summer Outdoor Concert Series - Airway Heights, WA

Jun 20 - Rabobank Theater - Bakersfield,

Read more from our friends at Guitar Player